Corvallis Indoor Winter Market

I love a good Saturday market. All that (hopefully) fresh produce straight from the farm, so many possibilities! This is what we hope to find anyway. We can also hope for the fair like atmosphere we’ve come to expect from some markets. I find I have mixed feelings about these event markets that are solely based on my mood at the time. If I’m there to get my groceries and get out, then I’m not as enamored of them.

Perhaps it was the beautiful sunny February weather, a day so bright and warm that I went without a coat all day, but last weekend the Corvallis Indoor Winter Market was packed. I’ve heard good things about the Corvallis Saturday market (April – November), but I moved here in the winter and have yet to experience one. I have been to the Wednesday market (April – November) a few times. The Wednesday market falls somewhere between the event market and a grocery market, there were a few musicians and food booths, but most of it was groceries and plants. My number one complaint about the Wednesday market is that I just can’t afford it. The veggies are all beautiful organic heirloom vegetables, lovely to behold, but way out of my price range.

The Winter Market is of the stripped down model. There was a musician (yep, one), and two baking companies, but everyone else was groceries, mainly produce.  It was a tough choice, but Denison Farms had the best display. Fresh cilantro, sweet potatoes, potatoes, turnips, young carrots, kale, and other greens, you had to use your elbows to make your way through their booth. I discovered a new green, tatsoi, which I can’t wait to try. I also waited my turn to eye The Mushroomery’s booth. They had a mouthwatering display of fungus, fresh and dried. I picked up a couple of servings of Black Trumpet mushrooms for the astounding price of $2.

Two fat bundles of assorted poultry feathers made their way into my shopping bag for a whole $6. These were purchased from a very nice lady who was quick to assure me they are fallen not plucked feathers. I couldn’t bring myself to tell her my carnivore’s heart wasn’t that picky, but her care showed in the shiny perfection of each feather. No, these aren’t for eating. They’re for crafting.

On my way out I stopped by Sweet Home Farms for something I have never tried, goat meat. One of the most common meats in the world and I have yet to try it. All their meats seemed to be frozen, so I was able to tuck my stew meat package safely away until I’m ready for it. This farm also sells beef, lamb, pork and pasture-raised poultry and eggs.

Overall I loved my experience at the Corvallis Indoor Winter Market. It was crowded but people were friendly and it had just the right amount fun. Perhaps it was the weather that brought frolic to the air, but I have a feeling this is a pretty hopping place most Saturdays. What I liked most was that the prices were reasonable. Sure they might be higher than most grocery stores, but they were also organic, local, and fresh and still priced reasonably.

You can find the Corvallis Indoor Winter Market at the Benton County Fairgrounds (just past the intersection of Harrison and Walnut). The Market is open Saturdays thru April 7, 9 am – 1 pm. Go check it out; it’s full of good stuff.The 2012 market season begins Sat Jan 14 and runs thru April 7, 2012 Market hours are 9:am to 1:00pmThe 2012 market season begins Sat Jan 14 and runs thru April 7, 2012 Market hours are 9:am to 1:00pmThe 2012 market season begins Sat Jan 14 and runs thru April 7, 2012 Market hours are 9:am to 1:00pm.

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com, I’d love to hear from you!

Thoughts?

