Kale and Mushroom Frittata

My cousins were in town this weekend so a small, last minute family reunion was held at my place. Not only did I get to cook up a storm for them but I got to meet the world’s cutest, sweetest baby. You did good Emme!

It’s interesting to see the new relationships that form in families as each generation comes of age, becomes adults, and sees the world through their own eyes. My cousins and I grew up separately due to our parents (siblings) disagreements. As adults we get to make our own decisions about what family will consist of. I am always fascinated by how different and the same families that did not grow up together can be. The similarities riding just underneath a surface difference, I suppose that’s true for all people.

Of course I wanted something impressive, but it had to be easy. The farmer’s market is all about greens this time of year and since I have embraced kale in all its many varieties, and been eagerly waiting to try out her recipe, I decided to try this recipe from The Faux Martha. I did make some changes; I left out the potatoes, added mushrooms, and doubled the amount of kale. At the mention of kale my brother gave me an inquisitive look and announced to my cousins that, “She’s always cooking something weird but it usually taste really good.” To which my cousin replied that kale is not weird. You rock Sara. With the exception of the occasional spinach or Swiss chard, greens were not a part of my family’s diet growing up. We were all about the peas, green beans, corn, tomatoes, and potatoes; everything else is considered weird. After tasting it, my brother pronounced that it, “would almost be a breakfast food if it had some pork in it.” Sigh. Yes, that means it was really good. It’s not like they left me anything for leftovers. Feel free to add bacon or ham if this would be your family’s reaction; it would be a tasty addition.

Frittatas are the same as families I suppose. For all the different ingredients you can image, the basic formula is the same and luckily it’s a pretty easy formula. I mixed the eggs up the night before so I only had to sauté the veggies and then bake it. The mushrooms I used were lovely elm mushrooms from the farmer’s market (a stop at the mushroom lady’s booth has become a must for me). I’m sure you could use any mushroom you can find. I served it right out of the oven in the cast iron skillet. It’s a simple and stunning presentation and it looked much better in the skillet than it does on my fancy plate. Enjoy.

Kale and Mushroom Frittata

8 eggs
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
¼ cup milk
½ tsp. garlic salt
¼ tsp. powdered garlic
Fresh ground black pepper
2 ½ Tbsps. olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 ½ cups mushrooms, diced
5 cups kale, chopped
Garlic salt

Preheat oven to 350°.

Whisk together eggs, parmesan, milk, garlic salt, garlic, and pepper. Set aside.

In a cast iron skillet, or other oven proof pan, heat 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil over medium heat. Add the diced onion and a pinch of garlic salt, sauté a few minutes. Add the mushrooms and season with another pinch of salt. Continue cooking until the onions have turned translucent. Add the kale, season with black pepper, and cook for 1-2 minutes stirring frequently.

Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to the pan, heating and stirring to make sure it throughly coats the pan. Add the egg mixture making sure the vegetables are evenly distributed through the eggs. Transfer the pan to the oven and cook 20-25 minutes. The frittata will be done when firm in the center.

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com, I’d love to hear from you!

Thoughts?

