Rice Flake

One of my favorite things to do is visit ethnic grocery stores. Doesn’t matter what flavor, I like them all. I like to walk up and down the aisles looking at all the different foods and wondering what they are used for. They’re also a great place to stock up on basics. Spices are often sold well below grocery store prices and in large quantities.

I’ve cut myself off from bringing home things I have no idea what to do with, my pantry was getting full. But that was after I had found the rice flakes. I couldn’t resist them. I immediately knew that I would end up using them in soup. I imagined big flakes of rice pasta floating in broth. That is, however, not apparently how rice flakes work. They curl up in a tight little roll when cooked, which I found delightful and bouncy. The rolls were much more fun than flakes; you get to suck the broth out of the middle of them.

As you can see, they were quite reasonably priced. One package was enough to make a big batch of soup with enough left over for another batch. Next time you’re at your local Asian market, look for some rice flakes. You’ll know what to expect when you see them.

Rice Flake Chicken Soup

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com, I’d love to hear from you!

Thoughts?

