Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

Mini pizza’s made with pita rounds had been on my mind for a while. I’d been pondering sauces and wondering what I could fix up that would be different than just plain old tomato sauce when I found Sundried Tomato Pesto in the cold case of First Alt Food Co-op (I love this place, if you’re in Corvallis you should stop by there). I had to try it and I knew I had to make my own.

While it’s not really pesto, you’ll notice the lack of basil, it was delicious! I made some Uptown BLT Mini Pizzas. You’ll need to add some pasta water and a little extra oil if you decide to make pasta with it. Chicken, olives, onions, spagetti, and a little of the pesto was so yummy. I think bruschetta would be a good use as well. Pretty much you could put it on an old shoe (leather of course, you don’t want to eat that synthetic stuff) and it would be awesome.

The great thing about making this at home is that you can control the amount of oil. The store bought kind was good but it had me reaching for a napkin because of all the oil. My recipe is pretty think so if you want a thinner more spreadable pesto try adding a little more vinegar and oil.

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto

1 cup sun dried tomatoes, diced
2 large garlic cloves, diced
1 ½ Tbsp. toasted pecan pieces
2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
¼ cup olive oil
Large pinch salt
Fresh ground pepper
½ Tbsp. grated parmesan cheese

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.

Recipe yields about ¾ cup.

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Thoughts?

