BBQ Grilled Corn on the Cob

It’s hot. Oh I’m sorry; I meant to say Oh My God it’s freaking HOT! I was born, raised, and have lived most of my life in the Willamette Valley. I’m pretty certain that I can say with some justification that natives of the Valley, and the greater western Pacific Northwest for that matter, are complete whiners when it comes to summer weather. The thermometer inches anything over 85, much less for some people, and let the complaining commence.

It rained for 3-4 months straight, every single day, in winter? That’s okay, I can deal with that. A little snow or ice, sure that’s okay to. But when it’s hot enough that the only thing you have energy for is sitting on the couch sweating, well, something’s wrong there. Logically I know that I have nothing to complain about. We have a great climate and rank pretty low on the scale of major weather or natural disasters. Perhaps I’m out of practice since our summers have been rather wet and relatively cold the last few years. On the up side, I make actually get some tomatoes off my plants this year. I better anyway.

So what does all this complaining bring me to? It’s too hot to cook. It’s time to break out the grill and some easy recipes.  Well, I wouldn’t even call this a recipe, just a great idea. I had some Carolina style barbeque sauce leftover from a trip to Brew BBQ in Corvallis and I had fresh corn on the cob. If you haven’t had Carolina style sauce, it’s vinegar based with peppers and herbs rather than tomato based. It’s not as thick as most barbeque sauces and adds a lot of moisture to the food. That is my understanding anyway, having never been to North or South Carolina I can’t say for sure.

Here’s what you do. Turn on the grill and let it heat up. Shuck the corn and lay it on the grill. Baste with the sauce until the corn it cooked to your liking. Serve, no butter or salt needed. Super yummy and no hot kitchen, yeah!

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com. I’d love to hear from you!

One response

  1. I LOVE my corn grilled this way but my husband is a purist and can’t have it any other way but steamed (he’s OCCP: Obsessive Compulsive Corn Purist).

    It’s A-NOY-YING because I love corn grilled this way. I wait for guests to come and then grill away!!
    xx

Thoughts?

