Jabberwocky Ale

`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

Jabberwocky Ale by Walkabout Brewing Company in Medford, or, what a name, how could I resist? I’m not much of an ale person, I’m more of lager girl but I thought I’d give it a try.

The label tells us that it’s “…an English style ale brewed in 7 barrel batches using the finest malted barley, hops, water, & ale yeast.” Yeah, I don’t know what most of that means but I know that when I took that first sip all I could think about was fish and chips. That this beer would be the perfect accompaniment for fish and chips. I can’t say that this is the best ale that I’ve had but it’s certainly a nice drinkable ale, a nice accompaniment to heavy foods or for sitting around with friends. It would be nice and filling on cold winter’s day but it’s not too much for a hot summer day either.

No it’s not the best ale but it’s one that I can come back to again and again or any time I decide to go on walkabout.

Thoughts?

