Harvest Grains Blend

Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains Blend, my mom referred to this as bird seed. I really can’t disagree; it looks exactly like the stuff out in my bird feeder. Well, minus the suet. So that’s what we call this in my family. “What are we having tonight? Birdseed!” However, just because we have a nick name for it and it looks like birdseed does not mean that it’s bad, quite the opposite in fact. Mom was a meat and potatoes kinda lady; if she was willing to eat it you know it had to be pretty good!

The Harvest Grains Blend consists of Israeli style couscous, orzo, baby garbanzo beans and red quinoa. Israeli style couscous is much larger than regular couscous and reminds me more of barley than pasta or couscous.

This blend is hearty enough to serve with beef, pork, or sausage but delicate enough for fish or seafood. The blend of pastas and grains plumps up nicely yet retains their shape resulting in a cohesive blend that rolls onto the tongue. Unlike some dried grains these rehydrate nicely and are small enough that even a potato lover can like them. The ingredient selection also cooks evenly, something you don’t fine in most packaged blends.

The package calls for adding butter, I use olive oil. It also calls for water or chicken broth, I recommend the broth. It adds a depth of flavor that is just missing when you use water. You can always keep it vegan by using a vegetable broth. It would also be a nice addition to soup. One package makes about eight large servings.

Give the Harvest Grains Blend a try; it might just pass your potato lover’s taste test.

Have questions, comments, or suggestions? Leave it below or you can reach me at willamettefoodadventures@live.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Thoughts?