Cheesy Bacon Cornbread

Election Day seems like a good time to roll out this recipe. I’m not much on politics. I pretty much find both sides rolling in the pork and cheesy. I try to maintain a positive attitude most of the time, or at least not slip into bitterness or heavy sarcasm, but I just don’t have faith in politics at the national or maybe even the state level. I try to avoid discussing politics, your welcome to your opinion, but I still believe in the power of the people and that change will come about by our daily and local actions as much as and more so than grand gestures on the world’s stage.

And this bread is just the thing to power change! 😀  Well, power something; they’re over the top. I’m not sure I could have found more calorie laden ingredients to stuff into the recipe. I expected to come back with some from the first time I took them to work. A coworker who doesn’t enjoy sweets (what is WRONG with some people!) was leaving and instead of a going away cake I made these. Since so many people are vegetarian I figured I’d be taking quite a bit home with me. I was wrong; they were gone in a cholesterol filled heartbeat. Something about mixing heavy cream and bacon brought out the carnivore in all those vegetarians.

So, right wing or left, democrat or republican, let us bond over Cheesy Bacon Cornbread. The only thing left to decide is muffins or bread because it’s good either way.

Cheesy Bacon Cornbread

15 oz. honey cornbread mix
Bacon drippings + vegetable oil if needed
Heavy cream
Eggs
16 oz. bacon, cooked and diced
1 cup canned corn, drained**
2 Tbsp. pimentos**
1 Tbsp. fresh chives, chopped
1 cup white cheddar cheese, shredded*

Preheat the oven and prepare the cornbread mix according to the package directions substituting the bacon drippings for the oil and the heavy cream for the milk. Add oil to the bacon dripping if there is not quite enough for what the box calls for. Add all other ingredients to the cornbread batter and cook according to the package directions. It may take slightly longer to cook due to the added ingredients.

*Cheddar provides the best flavor, but you may substitute any hard white cheese.

**If you can find it, absolutely substitute corn relish (Harry & David’s carries one that works great)  for the corn and pimentos.

Enjoy!

Thoughts?

