Eggnog Pound Cake

Eggnog Pound CakeIt’s National Eggnog Month. I don’t know who comes up with this stuff, but at least this one makes sense. I believe National Eggnog Day is December 24 or 25. I really want to be a fan of eggnog but I can’t get past the texture. I like the flavor though so I’m always on the lookout for new recipes that use eggnog or have the same flavor. I found this recipe over at My Recipes and quite honestly I couldn’t think of a way to improve on it right now. I mean sure, I could come up with something completely from scratch but I wanted to take it to work by a certain date and I didn’t have time. I did add an orange glaze, which I highly recommend, but I’m not sure what I did wrong. It was supposed to be 1 cup powdered sugar and 2 Tablespoons orange juice. I keep a can of orange juice concentrate in the freezer that I can just scope some out of when I need a little orange juice and I think I added to much juice. It was still very tasty.

Make this cake the night or day before you wish to serve it. Right out of the oven I wasn’t that impressed with the flavor, but the next day everyone at work raved about the flavor. I’ll take their word for it as I wasn’t able to get another piece! The flavor is very delicate so don’t worry too much about those that don’t care for eggnog. Some people recognized the flavor right away, others once they found out what it was.

If I had not been taking the cake to work, I would have considered a brandy or rum glaze or maybe even an eggnog glaze. Maybe I’ll try that next time.

So go here: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/eggnog-pound-cake-10000001940931/, top it with a glaze, and enjoy!

Thoughts?

