Three Ingredient Fudge

Three Ingredient FudgeThis is my favorite fudge. Quick, make some before your New Year’s Resolutions set in!  Odds are you have the ingredients in your cupboard. There always seems to be leftovers from the holiday bake-a-thon lurking in the cupboard, poor orphans whose purpose we no longer remember or over bought. Let them fulfill their destiny as fudge!

Not everyone relishes this fudge as much as I do. I think that its simplicity is lost on many or perhaps I like it so much because it is so simple to make. It could be that it’s basically a thick ganache and that is just too much for some people. I’m fine with it.  😀  It is good to remember to cut this fudge in small squares; a little goes a long ways.

A word about the ingredients:  I’m all for frugality, I buy store brands some times and most of the time that will be okay. But it’s important to note with this fudge that you can buy store brand chips or store brand condensed milk but you  cannot do both for this fudge. I don’t know why, but it will not set up correctly if you do. I spent a few frustrated holidays before I realized what was going on. One or the other “generic” ingredients, not both, I’ve done several tests and it doesn’t seem to make a difference which ingredient is generic as long as one of them is not. With only three ingredients I throw frugality out the window anymore and use my favorites with this recipe. The better the ingredients the better the fudge and you can really taste it. Another ingredient point:  if you or your crew doesn’t like dark chocolate seek out milk chocolate chips. They’re fairly easy to find anymore and it will make a difference. My candy/sweet loving niece only had a few pieces (I was counting on her to eat quite a bit more) because it was dark chocolate not milk chocolate. I had used dark chocolate chips but I don’t think she would have liked it with even regular chocolate chips.

Don’t think you’re limited to only chocolate with this recipe. Chips come in a variety of flavors these days. I once made mint chocolate fudge by using a half can of milk with a half bag of chocolate chips and the same with a bag of mint chips in separate pans and then swirled them before refrigerating. Only your imagination can limit you with this recipe.

Three Ingredient Fudge

1 10 oz. bag chocolate chips
1 14 oz. can sweeten condensed milk
1 tsp. vanilla or almond extract

In a heavy pan over medium to medium low heat, melt the chocolate chips with the milk. Stir continuously until all chips have melted and the mixture is smooth. It will be somewhat thick. Remove the pan from the heat and add the extract. Stir in the extract making sure it is well integrated. You will know because the mixture will loosen some and have a nice sheen.

Pour the fudge into a greased 8 X 8 pan and chill in the refrigerator for an hour or until almost set. Remove from the refrigerator and slice. Return the fudge to the refrigerator until completely set. Enjoy!

Thoughts?

