Marinated Mushroom Salad

Marinated Mushroom SaladThis might seem like an odd recipe to call a salad and not a condiment, but I ate a surprising amount of it. I thought it might be a little much just to eat mushrooms but the onions and garlic really make a difference. Even after a few days in the marinade, the mushrooms where still firm and tasty. Of course, this is a side salad, I wouldn’t want to serve it as a main dish. I served mine with salmon but I think it would team up with beef or pork just as well.

I used crimini mushrooms but I think that just about any type of mushroom would work well. I’d like to try it with my favorite, Lion’s Mane, when they’re in season. Don’t worry about the flavor being to pickle like, the balsamic vinegar is very mild and it’s closer to a dressing than a brine.

Marinated Mushroom Salad

½ pound mushrooms, sliced
½ cup sliced red onion
4 cloves garlic, sliced
1/3 cup olive oil
3 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
½ tsp. dried parsley
1 tsp. Italian seasoning
1 tsp. salt
ground pepper to taste

Place the mushrooms, onion, and garlic in a glass or ceramic bowl. Combine the other ingredients in a small bowl and whisk until combined. Pour the dressing over the mushrooms, onion, and garlic, toss to thoroughly coat all ingredients, and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.

Enjoy!

Thoughts?

