Buttermilk Dutch Baby

Buttermilk Dutch BabyThe house was cold which made me want to bake. However, I was feeling far too lazy to actually bake something and a Dutch baby is pretty much a lazy way to make pancakes. I only discovered these lovely puffy pancakes a few years ago. My then boyfriend’s roommate made them for dinner one night. I was immediately enchanted with the idea. Pancakes without having to stand over the griddle? Baked goods finished in fewer than 30 minutes? Oh yes please!

The Dutch baby is of course a bit different than pancakes. They tend to puff more and have a slight custard texture. If you think the baby will puff right over the edge of the pan you can always poke a hole in the bubble. You can of course use milk in place of the buttermilk, but I like the slight tang that it adds. It adds depth to the flavor.

There will be enough butter in the pan that you won’t need more when they’re served. I like powdered sugar or syrup (whatever’s on hand) on top of mine, but you can use any kind of topping you like. I would stay away from anything you would need to spread as the texture is more delicate than regular pancakes, so maybe not peanut butter.

Buttermilk Dutch Baby

3 Tbsp. butter
3 eggs
¾ cup buttermilk
½ tsp. vanilla
2 Tbsp. sugar
1/8 tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pumpkin pie spice
½ cup flour

Preheat the oven to 425°. Melt the butter in a 10-inch cast iron pan (or other oven proof pan) over low heat. Remove from heat.

Combine all ingredients except the flour in a medium size bowl, whisk until well combined. Add the flour and mix until just incorporated.

Pour the batter into the buttered pan and bake 15-20 minutes or until pancake is puffed and lightly browned. Enjoy!

3 responses

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  2. […] good way to use up the rest of my buttermilk? Sold! I searched around a bit and finally settled on this recipe and I have to say, these were fantastic. Not only were they delicious (topped with strawberries and […]

Thoughts?

