Curry Dressing

Yes, the monkey is sad there's no photo of the dressing as well. However, a sad monkey is far more interesting than a picture of dressing. It's hard to make dressing interesting in a photo especially when your eye is burning from capsaicin.

Yes, the monkey is sad there’s no photo of the dressing as well. However, a sad monkey is far more interesting than a picture of dressing. It’s hard to make dressing interesting in a photo especially when your eye is burning from capsaicin.

Have you had those days in the kitchen? I had one of those days in the kitchen. I had exactly what I was going to make all planned out. I cut up all the costarring ingredients only to find out my star ingredient had gone bad. Guess it’s been a few days longer than I thought. 😦

So then I decided to make this dressing. Curry is one of my favorite flavors and it’s something I always have in the house, only, I couldn’t find it. I took most of the stuff off my seasoning shelf and no curry. Seriously? I was tired, I was grumpy, my food wasn’t turning out right after lots of work and cleaning out the fridge to see what was actually still edible. There HAD to be curry. Of course there was, I just had to get a stool and nearly empty the cupboard before I could find it. Success! And tasty success it is!

Warning! This is a fiery dressing. Know how kitchen advice from professionals always tell you to wear gloves to cut up hot peppers? Ya, I never do that. It’s never been a problem, still isn’t. The advice that you should wash your hands immediately after handling them? That one I usually follow. Usually. Apparently not today. This information over at Livestrong is good stuff and what I ended up doing after touching the really sensitive skin around my eye (but thankfully not my eye!). Make sure you use a good quantity of soap and the aloe really does help. Somedays being in the kitchen isn’t for the faint of heart.

Curry Dressing

¼ cup olive oil
2 ½ Tbsp. seasoned rice vinegar
½ Tbsp. sugar
½ tsp. curry
1 tsp. minced garlic
½ Tbsp. finely sliced hot pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bottle that seals. Seal the bottle and shake vigorously. Enjoy!

One response

  1. […] 11 oz. bag of shredded cabbage or 1 head cabbage, shredded 4 green onions, sliced 1 cup shredded carrots 1 cucumber, chopped 1 red bell pepper, chopped 2-3 Tbsp. Chopped celery leaves ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro ¼ cup chopped fresh basil Curry Dressing […]

Thoughts?

