Sausage Stuffed Squash

Sausage Stuffed SquashI really do loved stuffed squash; I’m not sure why I don’t do more of them. Well, I’m likely to as all those beautiful squashes I bought months ago (see Squash is Beautiful) are now telling me, “use me or lose me.”

What I like about this recipe is that I can section it up, do a little at a time. I think it would be a good recipe for when you invite friends over. You can do most of the work ahead and then just slip it in the oven to finish it off. That’s actually how I made this recipe. I roasted the squash one day, cooked the sausage mixture on another day, and put it all together to bake it the next. It’s also a way to still have a nice meal on a busy work week.

Sausage Stuffed Squash

Serves 4

2 squash such as acorn squash about 1 ½ pounds each
½-1 Tbsp. oil, depending on the type of pan
½ onion, diced
6-7 button mushrooms, sliced
dash salt
1 Tbsp. minced garlic
1 pound ground Italian sausage
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
2-3 cups packed fresh spinach
¼ cup sliced olives
½ cup shaved parmesan cheese

Bake the squash at 425° for 45 minutes to an hour. Remove from the oven and let cool. Cut the squash in half and remove the seeds. Set the squash aside.

While the squash is cooking, heat the oil over medium heat in a frying pan and sauté the onion and mushrooms with the salt. Once they have softened, add the garlic and sausage, cook until the sausage is just done (don’t overcook it). Remove the sausage mixture from the heat and stir in the parsley, spinach, and olives. Set aside and let cool.

Mix the cheese into the cooled sausage mixture and spoon the mixture into the cavity of the squash. Return the filled squash to the oven and cook until the cheese begins to melt and the stuffed squash is thoroughly hot. This can take from 5-15 minutes depending on the temperature of the ingredients when they went into the oven. Enjoy!

Thoughts?

