Oatmeal Made with Juice

Oatmeal Made with JuiceI’ve been on an oatmeal kick lately. It could be that I discovered making it in the microwave. Three minutes and BAM! Done. It could also have something to do with the fact that I didn’t realize I had oatmeal and bought more, now I have lots of oatmeal.

This idea hit me while I was wondering what to do with the juice leftover from Not My Mom’s Fruit Salad. Why not replace the water with juice when I make my oatmeal?

Worked like a charm. I usually put more sugar than I like to admit in my oatmeal and I didn’t put any in when I used juice. The sweetness might have come from the dried pineapple as well. Topped with some lightly salted nuts it was totally yummy! Yep, salted nuts, they’ll help open the taste receptors in your mouth. They probably added to the seeming sweetness of this oatmeal.

I didn’t have a whole cup of juice, more like ¾, so I added water until I had a full cup. If you like cooked nuts, add them before cooking. I don’t, so I add them after. I used tropical juice, dried pineapple, and cashews, but I don’t see why any combination wouldn’t work.

Quick, easy, healthy, awesome breakfast!

Oatmeal Made with Juice

½ cup rolled oats
1 cup juice
¼ cup dried fruit
2 Tbsp. lightly salted nuts

Combine the oats, juice, and dried fruit in a microwavable bowl. Microwave on high for 2-3 minutes, time depends on your microwave. You’ll know it’s done when the oats have absorbed most of the water.

Remove from microwave, sprinkle with nuts, and serve. Enjoy!

Thoughts?

