Edamame Salad

Edamame SaladI fell off the salad wagon. Not only did I fall off the salad wagon, I fell of the vegetable wagon and the cooking wagon and I have the road rash to show for it.

Perhaps it’s getting used to the new job and hours, maybe it’s the allergies, maybe it’s because I actually did fall down and go scrape on the concrete and it still hurts like heck, or maybe it’s PMS. Maybe it’s all just excuses for why I have not only not felt like cooking but not firing up the computer to post. I’m not on the computer as much since I got my shiny new phone. I guess I am on the computer, probably much more, it’s just much smaller.

Whatever it is, here is my peace offering for being away. I fell in love with edamame (soy beans) at the sushi restaurant. Steamed edamame is an appetizer and snack in Japanese cuisine. The little bowl of fuzzy pods are cracked open and consumed in no time at our table. Once I knew what to do with them I bought a bag of frozen beans for at home. A quick boil and voila! Snack time. If I’m craving something salty I’ll use a couple dashes of soy sauce on them, soy on soy action. That is what gave me the idea for this salad dressing.

It’s really pretty simple and lovely and easy, which is exactly what one needs to crawl back on to the salad wagon.

Edamame Salad

1 Tbsp. toasted sesame oil
2 Tbsp. soy sauce
12 oz. edamame, cooked and at room temperature
4 cups shredded cabbage
1 cup shredded carrots
1-2 green onion sliced thinly
2-3 Tbsp. sesame seeds

In a small bowl, whisk together the soy sauce and sesame oil. Place the rest of the ingredients in a salad bowl and pour the soy sauce dressing over the salad. Toss gently. Enjoy!

Thoughts?

